For most Kobalt 24V tool owners, I’d start with the Kobalt 24V Max 4.0Ah battery: it pairs a familiar platform with a practical balance of runtime and size. The 24V 6Ah two-pack is a stronger fit for longer work sessions, while the Kobalt 80V 2.5Ah battery suits compatible outdoor equipment when lower pack weight matters. The main tradeoffs are voltage-platform compatibility, capacity versus weight, and the difference between Kobalt-branded batteries and third-party replacements. I compare all 15 options by those factors so you can match a battery to your tools and work habits; continue reading for the full breakdown.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Voltage comes before capacity: the 20V, 24V, 40V, and 80V batteries in this lineup are not interchangeable just because their connectors or advertised capacities look similar.
- The Kobalt 24V 4Ah pack is the balanced pick: it avoids the bulk of larger-capacity packs while offering more runtime than the compact 2Ah option.
- For 24V runtime, the 6Ah two-pack stands apart: it offers more capacity per pack than the listed 4Ah choices, but added size and weight may be unwelcome on handheld tools.
- Third-party options dominate the 40V high-capacity selection: several replacement packs promise 5Ah to 8Ah capacity, so buyers should verify exact tool compatibility and seller support rather than choose by capacity alone.
- The 80V choice is a weight-versus-runtime decision: Kobalt’s 2.5Ah pack favors a lighter setup, while the XAVITO 3.5Ah replacement advertises greater capacity but calls for closer fit and compatibility checks.
| Kobalt batterie | Voltage | Capacity | Battery type |
|---|---|---|---|
| SCOVEE Kobalt 24V Max 4 Ah Lit | 24 V DC | 4 Ah per battery | Lithium-ion |
| Kobalt 80V Max 2.5Ah Rechargea | 80V Max | 2.5 Ah | — |
| 2-Pack 24V 6Ah Battery for Kob | 24 V | 6 Ah per battery | — |
| Kobalt 24V Max 4.0Ah Lithium-I | 24V Max | 4.0 Ah (4000 mAh) | Lithium-ion |
| DTK 40V 6.0Ah Replacement Batt | 40V | 6.0 Ah (6000 mAh) per battery | Lithium-ion |
| LiBatter 40V 2.0Ah Replacement | 40V | 2.0Ah (2000mAh) per battery | Lithium-ion |
| DTK Replacement 40V 6200mAh Co | 40V | 6.2Ah (6200mAh) per battery | — |
| OHYES BAT 40V 8.0Ah Replacemen | 40V | 8.0Ah (8000mAh) per battery | — |
| FSKE 24V 6500mAh Replacement B | 24V | 6.5Ah (6500mAh) per battery | Lithium-ion |
| Amityke 2-Pack 40V 5.0Ah Repla | 40V | 5.0Ah (5000mAh) per battery | — |
| Kobalt 20V Max 4.0Ah Lithium-I | 20V | 4.0Ah | — |
| ELECtrysium 40V 6.0Ah Replacem | 40V DC | 6.0Ah (6000mAh) | — |
| Kobalt 40V 4.0Ah Rechargeable | 40V | 4.0Ah | Lithium-ion |
| Kobalt 24-Volt Max 2.0-Ah Lith | 24 volts | 2.0Ah (2000mAh) | Lithium-ion |
| XAVITO Replacement for Kobalt | 80V | 3.5Ah | Lithium-ion |
More Details on Our Top Picks
SCOVEE Kobalt 24V Max 4 Ah Lithium-Ion Battery and Charger, 2-Pack
I’d choose this SCOVEE set when the main goal is keeping a Kobalt 24V Max tool rotation supplied: it includes two 4 Ah batteries and a charger, rather than a single replacement pack. The four-LED indicators make charge checks straightforward, while built-in circuit protection adds a safeguard during charging and use. Compared with the Kobalt KB 424-03, which is an official single 4 Ah battery but comes without a charger, this bundle is more convenient for someone starting without the charging gear. The tradeoff is third-party branding, and its stated compatibility is limited to listed Kobalt 24V Max models and original chargers. It is also not suitable for chainsaws, so buyers with that tool in their lineup should choose a compatible alternative instead.
Pros:- Includes two 4 Ah batteries and a charger.
- Four LED indicators show remaining charge.
- Built-in circuit protection.
- No memory effect.
Cons:- Not suitable for chainsaws.
- Compatibility is limited to specified Kobalt 24V Max batteries, tools, and original chargers.
- Third-party brand rather than an official Kobalt battery.
Best for: Kobalt 24V Max owners who need two 4 Ah replacement batteries and do not already have a compatible charger.
Not ideal for: Kobalt 24V chainsaw owners or buyers who want an official Kobalt battery rather than a third-party replacement.
- Brand:SCOVEE
- Voltage:24 V DC
- Capacity:4 Ah per battery
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Pack quantity:2 batteries
- Compatibility:Kobalt 24V Max KB624-03, KB524-03, KB424-03, KB224-03, KB124-03 and original Kobalt 24V chargers
- Indicators and protection:Four LED indicators; built-in circuit protection
- Certifications:CE, FCC, RoHS
Our verdict“Choose this set if you need two compatible 24V packs and a charger, but skip it for chainsaw use or an OEM-only setup.”
Kobalt 80V Max 2.5Ah Rechargeable Lithium-Ion Battery
This is my pick for Kobalt 80V Max owners who want a modest step up from the standard 2.0 Ah battery without moving to a larger-capacity option. The 2.5 Ah capacity is listed as providing up to 25% more runtime than that 2.0 Ah baseline, useful when a short task routinely outlasts a smaller pack. Its 40-minute-or-less charge time and onboard LED fuel gauge help make battery swaps and charge planning easier. Unlike the SCOVEE 24V two-pack, this is an official Kobalt battery for a separate, higher-voltage tool family; it cannot serve 24V equipment and includes only one battery. The main compromise is capacity: buyers doing extended yard work may prefer a larger 80V pack, while this makes more sense when a lighter runtime upgrade is enough.
Pros:- Compatible with the Kobalt 80V Max tool family.
- Up to 25% more runtime than the standard 2.0 Ah battery.
- Charges in 40 minutes or less.
- Onboard LED fuel gauge shows remaining power.
Cons:- Works only with Kobalt 80V Max tools.
- 2.5 Ah capacity may not suit long, demanding jobs.
- Includes one battery rather than a two-pack.
Best for: Owners of Kobalt 80V Max tools who want an official battery with more runtime than the standard 2.0 Ah pack and a relatively quick recharge.
Not ideal for: Buyers with 24V or 40V Kobalt tools, or 80V users who need extended runtime from a single charge.
- Model:KB 2580-06
- Voltage:80V Max
- Capacity:2.5 Ah
- Battery technology:Lithium-ion
- Pack quantity:1 battery
- Charge time:40 minutes or less
- Compatibility:Kobalt 80V Max family of tools
- Battery weight:1700 g
- Dimensions:7 x 5 x 4 inches
Our verdict“Pick this official 80V battery for a quick-charging, modest runtime upgrade, not for long sessions that call for greater capacity.”
2-Pack 24V 6Ah Battery for Kobalt 24V Max Lithium-Ion
For buyers prioritizing fewer battery changes, this two-pack stands out with 6 Ah per battery, more capacity than the 4 Ah SCOVEE set or the single official Kobalt KB 424-03. That makes it a stronger fit for repeated yard-tool work across compatible 24V Max equipment, including the listed mowers, trimmers, blowers, and chainsaws. Its built-in battery management system is specified to protect against overcharge, over-discharge, voltage and current faults, and overheating. There are tradeoffs: these are not official Kobalt batteries, and the product data does not state a charger is included. Compatibility also depends on the listed battery models and chargers, so I’d verify the exact tool and charger before buying. Choose this over the 4 Ah alternatives when capacity matters more than OEM branding.
Pros:- Two 6 Ah batteries offer more capacity per pack than the 4 Ah options in this lineup.
- Listed compatibility covers a range of Kobalt 24V Max yard tools, including chainsaws.
- BMS protection covers overcharge, over-discharge, voltage, current, and heat faults.
- Includes a 12-month after-sales service period.
Cons:- Third-party replacement rather than an official Kobalt battery.
- A charger is not listed as included.
- Buyers need to check compatibility against the specified models and chargers.
Best for: Kobalt 24V Max owners who run several compatible yard tools and want two higher-capacity replacement batteries.
Not ideal for: Buyers who require official Kobalt batteries, need a charger in the box, or have tools and chargers outside the listed compatibility range.
- Voltage:24 V
- Capacity:6 Ah per battery
- Pack quantity:2 batteries
- Compatible battery models:KB624-03, KB524-03, KB424-03, KB224-03, KB124-03
- Compatible tools:Listed Kobalt lawn mowers, weed eaters, trimmers, chainsaws, leaf blowers, and hedge trimmers
- Compatible chargers:KRC 2490-03, KRC 2404-03, KRC 2445-03, KCH 2411-03
- Safety features:BMS protection against overcharge, over-discharge, over-voltage, over-current, and overheating
- After-sales service:12-month service
Our verdict“Choose this two-pack for greater 24V capacity and broad listed tool coverage, provided you accept a third-party battery and already have a compatible charger.”
Kobalt 24V Max 4.0Ah Lithium-Ion Power Tool Battery (KB 424-03)
I’d favor the Kobalt KB 424-03 when brand-matched replacement matters more than getting multiple batteries in one package. Its 4 Ah capacity suits compatible 24V Max cordless tools, while the charge indicator and protective circuitry help users check power and guard against temperature extremes, over-discharge, and over-charge. Compared with the SCOVEE 4 Ah two-pack, this is an official Kobalt battery, but it includes only one pack and no charger. The 6 Ah third-party two-pack offers more stated capacity and quantity, yet the KB 424-03 may better suit buyers who prefer the named Kobalt battery model. Its one-hour recharge time is clearly listed; the drawback is that charger ownership is required, and compatibility does not extend beyond the Kobalt 24V Max tool family.
Pros:- Official Kobalt 4 Ah battery for compatible 24V Max cordless tools.
- Charge indicator displays battery status.
- Protective circuitry covers extreme temperatures, over-discharge, and over-charge.
- Listed one-hour recharge time.
Cons:- Charger is sold separately.
- Only one battery is included.
- Compatibility is limited to Kobalt 24V Max cordless tools.
Best for: Kobalt 24V Max tool owners who prefer an official Kobalt replacement battery and need one 4 Ah pack.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a charger, want two batteries in one purchase, or own tools outside the Kobalt 24V Max system.
- Brand:Kobalt
- Model:KB 424-03
- Voltage:24V Max
- Capacity:4.0 Ah (4000 mAh)
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Battery count:1
- Charge time:About 1 hour
- Charger included:No
- Battery weight:850 g (1.9 lb)
Our verdict“Choose this single pack for an official Kobalt 24V Max replacement, but look to a bundle if you need a charger or multiple batteries.”
DTK 40V 6.0Ah Replacement Batteries for Kobalt Tools, 2-Pack
This DTK bundle is the 40V pick for buyers who want two 6 Ah batteries for compatible Kobalt outdoor equipment. The listed tool range includes trimmers, blowers, hedge trimmers, chainsaws, and lawn mowers, making the pair more useful for a multi-tool yard setup than a single replacement pack. Four-LED fuel gauges provide a quick charge check, and built-in protection covers overcharging, over-discharging, over-current, and overheating. Compared with the Kobalt 80V Max 2.5 Ah battery, this is designed for a different voltage platform and emphasizes pack quantity and capacity rather than a quick charge-time claim. The tradeoff is that DTK is a third-party brand, and compatibility is limited to supported 40V tools and specified chargers. I’d confirm those model numbers before choosing it.
Pros:- Two 6 Ah lithium-ion batteries are included.
- Four-LED fuel gauge shows remaining charge.
- Protection covers overcharge, over-discharge, over-current, and overheating.
- Listed compatibility includes several types of Kobalt 40V yard tools.
Cons:- Third-party replacement rather than an official Kobalt battery.
- Compatibility is limited to supported 40V tools and listed chargers.
- The provided product data does not state a charge time.
Best for: Kobalt 40V outdoor-tool owners who want two higher-capacity replacement batteries for several compatible yard tools.
Not ideal for: Owners of Kobalt 24V or 80V tools, buyers seeking an official Kobalt battery, or anyone whose charger is not among the supported models.
- Brand:DTK
- Model:KB440-03
- Voltage:40V
- Capacity:6.0 Ah (6000 mAh) per battery
- Energy:240 Wh
- Pack quantity:2 batteries
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Compatible chargers:KRC60-06, KRC40-06, KRC840-03
- Warranty:12-month limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this DTK pack for two high-capacity batteries in a compatible Kobalt 40V yard setup, after checking your tool and charger models.”
LiBatter 40V 2.0Ah Replacement Batteries for Kobalt Tools, 2-Pack
I’d choose this pair for compatible Kobalt 40V tools when lighter batteries and a spare matter more than long runtime. Each 2.0Ah battery has an LED charge indicator and built-in protection against overcharging, overheating, and other electrical faults. Compared with the DTK 40V 6.2Ah two-pack, LiBatter’s smaller capacity is a poor fit for long mowing or trimming sessions, but can make more sense for shorter jobs where a high-capacity pack is unnecessary. The two-pack provides a backup without moving to a different voltage platform. Compatibility is limited to listed Kobalt 40V models and chargers, and the listing has conflicting quantity details, so I’d verify what is included before ordering. Its one-year warranty is useful, though this remains a third-party replacement rather than a Kobalt-branded battery.
Pros:- Two batteries provide a ready spare for compatible tools
- LED indicators show charge status
- Built-in protection covers several common electrical and heat risks
- Lithium-ion cells have no memory effect
Cons:- 2.0Ah capacity offers less runtime than the higher-capacity 40V alternatives
- Compatibility is restricted to listed Kobalt 40V batteries and chargers
- Product listing gives conflicting battery quantity information
Best for: Kobalt 40V owners who do short yard-work sessions and want a spare compatible battery rather than maximum runtime.
Not ideal for: People running lawn mowers or other demanding tools for extended sessions; the 2.0Ah capacity is much lower than the DTK 6.2Ah and OHYES BAT 8.0Ah options.
- Voltage:40V
- Capacity:2.0Ah (2000mAh) per battery
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Battery weight:2.6 lbs
- Warranty:1 year
- Compatible chargers:KRC40-06, KRC60-06, KRC840-03
- Compatible battery models:KB640-03, KB640-06, KB540C-06, KB440-03, KB440C-06, KB340C-06, KB2540C-06, KB245-06, KB240-06, KB240C-06, KBK0140-06, 2910003-RC
Our verdict“Choose this pair for short jobs and backup coverage on compatible Kobalt 40V tools, but skip it if runtime is your priority.”
DTK Replacement 40V 6200mAh Cordless Power Tool Battery – 2 Pack
The DTK pair is a strong middle ground for Kobalt 40V owners who want longer sessions without stepping up to the OHYES BAT pack’s stated 8.0Ah capacity. Each battery is rated at 6.2Ah and has a four-LED gauge, so checking remaining charge is simpler than with the LiBatter 2.0Ah option. That extra capacity suits tools such as trimmers and blowers, where frequent stops to swap batteries can interrupt yard work. DTK also lists protections against overcharging, over-discharging, excess current, and heat, with an ABS/PC case. The main limitation is fit: the listed models are specific, and I’d confirm compatibility rather than assume it works across every Kobalt 40V tool. A charger is not included, so this is less convenient than the Amityke kit for buyers who need charging equipment too.
Pros:- 6.2Ah capacity is substantially higher than the LiBatter 2.0Ah pair
- Two batteries support swapping during longer work sessions
- Four-LED fuel gauge makes charge status easy to check
- Built-in protections address overcharge, over-discharge, current, and heat
Cons:- Charger is not included
- Compatibility is limited to specific Kobalt 40V models
- Lower stated capacity than the OHYES BAT 8.0Ah batteries
Best for: Kobalt 40V owners with a compatible trimmer, blower, hedge trimmer, chainsaw, or mower who already have a suitable charger and want two higher-capacity packs.
Not ideal for: Buyers without a compatible charger or owners of Kobalt 40V models outside the listed compatibility range.
- Voltage:40V
- Capacity:6.2Ah (6200mAh) per battery
- Energy:248Wh
- Battery count:2
- Cell type:Lithium-ion
- Battery weight:600g
- Model number:KB440-03H
- Listed compatible models:KPM1040A-03, KM-1640-06, KM-4040-06
Our verdict“Pick the DTK pair for longer 40V yard-work sessions if your tool is compatible and you already own a charger.”
OHYES BAT 40V 8.0Ah Replacement Batteries for Kobalt Tools, 2 Pack
For buyers prioritizing capacity in a two-battery 40V set, OHYES BAT has the strongest stated capacity among these picks: 8.0Ah per battery. That makes it a better match for extended yard work than the LiBatter 2.0Ah pair, and it exceeds the DTK 6.2Ah option on paper. A four-LED indicator helps monitor charge, while the two-pack gives you a second battery for rotation or backup. The tradeoff is that the supplied data lists compatible Kobalt models but does not provide detailed safety protections, a warranty, charger compatibility, or a charger in the box. I’d treat the model list as a boundary, not assume broad fit across all Kobalt 40V tools. This is a capacity-first choice; buyers who need a complete charging kit may prefer the Amityke set, which includes a charger.
Pros:- 8.0Ah capacity is the highest stated among these reviewed 40V two-packs
- Two batteries support extended work and battery rotation
- Four-LED indicator displays remaining charge
- Listed compatibility includes several Kobalt 40V outdoor tools
Cons:- Compatibility information covers only specified models
- Charger is not listed as included
- The supplied product data does not specify warranty or safety-protection details
Best for: Kobalt 40V owners with one of the listed compatible tools who need substantial capacity for longer outdoor work and already have charging equipment.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a charger included, want documented protection features, or own a Kobalt 40V model not listed in the compatibility information.
- Voltage:40V
- Capacity:8.0Ah (8000mAh) per battery
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Battery cell type:Lithium-ion
- Fuel gauge:4-LED indicator
- Battery weight:16 ounces
- Compatible models:KPM1040A-03, KM-1640-06, KM 4040-06, KM1940-07
Our verdict“Choose OHYES BAT for the highest stated capacity in this 40V group, provided your tool is listed and you already have a charger.”
FSKE 24V 6500mAh Replacement Batteries for Kobalt Tools, 2-Pack
The FSKE set is the voltage-specific choice here: it serves select Kobalt 24V tools, rather than the 40V outdoor-tool systems covered by the other four products. Each pack is rated at 6.5Ah and has four charge indicators, giving buyers a higher-capacity alternative to the compact Kobalt 24V 2.0Ah battery listed elsewhere in the roundup. Two batteries can be useful for rotating through work, and the built-in management system lists protections against short circuits, overcharging, over-voltage, and overheating. The key tradeoff is that the model and charger lists are selective; a 24V label alone does not confirm fit. Compared with the Kobalt 24V Max 4.0Ah battery, FSKE offers more stated capacity, but it is a third-party replacement, and runtime improvement claims should not be treated as guaranteed.
Pros:- 6.5Ah capacity exceeds the listed Kobalt 24V 4.0Ah battery
- Two batteries allow a spare or rotation during work
- Four LED indicators show charge level
- Battery management system lists several electrical and heat protections
Cons:- Works only with select Kobalt 24V tools and chargers
- Third-party replacement rather than a Kobalt-branded battery
- Manufacturer runtime and discharge-life claims are not independently established by the supplied data
Best for: Owners of listed Kobalt 24V tools who need two higher-capacity replacement batteries and can verify their charger and battery model match.
Not ideal for: Kobalt 40V tool owners, or 24V users who need an OEM battery or cannot confirm compatibility with the listed models and chargers.
- Voltage:24V
- Capacity:6.5Ah (6500mAh) per battery
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Quantity:2 batteries
- Model:KB624-03H
- Battery weight:1.6 lbs
- Dimensions:4.94 × 3.5 × 2.82 inches
- Compatible chargers:KRC 2490-03, KRC 2404-03, KRC 2445-03, KCH 2411-03
Our verdict“Choose FSKE for more stated capacity in a compatible Kobalt 24V system, but confirm the exact battery and charger model first.”
Amityke 2-Pack 40V 5.0Ah Replacement Battery with Rapid Charger for Kobalt 40V Tools
Amityke earns its place for convenience rather than maximum capacity: the kit includes two 5.0Ah batteries and a rapid charger, so it suits buyers building out a compatible 40V setup or replacing batteries and charging equipment together. Its capacity sits between LiBatter’s 2.0Ah packs and the DTK 6.2Ah pair, a practical compromise for regular yard work without choosing the largest option here. Each battery has an LED gauge and listed protections against overcharging, overheating, and short circuits. Compared with the DTK and OHYES BAT pairs, the included charger is the main differentiator; the product data does not give a specific charging time, so “rapid” does not establish how quickly it will replenish a pack. As a third-party replacement, it also calls for careful model matching before purchase.
Pros:- Includes two 5.0Ah batteries and a charger
- Capacity is higher than the LiBatter 2.0Ah pair
- LED gauges show battery charge status
- Listed protection covers overcharging, overheating, and short circuits
Cons:- Third-party replacement rather than a Kobalt-branded battery
- 5.0Ah capacity is below the DTK 6.2Ah and OHYES BAT 8.0Ah alternatives
- No specific charging-time duration is provided
Best for: Kobalt 40V owners who need two replacement batteries and a charger in one kit, especially those whose tools match the listed models.
Not ideal for: Buyers who already own a charger and want the highest stated capacity; the DTK 6.2Ah and OHYES BAT 8.0Ah pairs offer more capacity per battery.
- Voltage:40V
- Capacity:5.0Ah (5000mAh) per battery
- Included:2 batteries and 1 charger
- Compatibility:Kobalt 40V Max tools
- Listed compatible models:KB640-03, KB540C-06, KB245-06, KB240-06, KB540-06, KB440-06
- Warranty:1 year
- Dimensions:10 × 4 × 6.6 inches
- Model number:QW-1
Our verdict“Choose Amityke when you need a compatible 40V charger along with two mid-capacity batteries, not when maximum runtime is the goal.”
Kobalt 20V Max 4.0Ah Lithium-Ion Power Tool Battery
I’d pick this battery for a buyer who already owns compatible Kobalt 20V tools and wants a useful capacity without switching platforms. Its 4.0Ah lithium-ion pack offers twice the stated capacity of the Kobalt 24-Volt Max 2.0-Ah Compact Battery, making it the more sensible choice when longer work between charges matters more than a smaller footprint. The tradeoff is that the listing gives limited compatibility information beyond model K20-LB40A, so I’d verify the tool and charger fit before ordering. It is also a single-battery package, not a multi-pack or charger bundle. The provided data lists reusability as single use, an unusual limitation for a rechargeable-style tool battery, so I would confirm that detail with the seller rather than assume normal rechargeability.
Pros:- 4.0Ah capacity exceeds the 2.0Ah Kobalt 24-Volt Max compact option.
- Lithium-ion chemistry.
- Designed for Kobalt 20V power tools.
- Single-battery package suits replacement needs without extra accessories.
Cons:- Compatibility details are limited to model K20-LB40A.
- Product data lists reusability as single use, which should be clarified before purchase.
- No charger is included.
Best for: Kobalt 20V tool owners seeking a single 4.0Ah replacement pack and willing to check model compatibility before buying.
Not ideal for: Buyers with Kobalt 24V, 40V, or 80V tools, or anyone who needs confirmed broad compatibility or a multi-battery set.
- Brand:Kobalt
- Model:K20-LB40A
- Voltage:20V
- Capacity:4.0Ah
- Battery chemistry:Lithium-ion
- Included components:1 battery
- Dimensions:7.5 x 7 x 3.5 inches
Our verdict“Choose this pack for a compatible Kobalt 20V tool when 4.0Ah capacity matters more than bundled accessories or clearly documented compatibility.”
ELECtrysium 40V 6.0Ah Replacement Battery for Kobalt Cordless Tools
The ELECtrysium stands out among these picks for combining 6.0Ah capacity with a stated compatibility list for several Kobalt 40V batteries and chargers. That makes it a stronger runtime-oriented alternative to the Kobalt 40V 4.0Ah Rechargeable Lithium-Ion Battery, while keeping the choice focused on one replacement pack rather than a two-pack bundle such as the DTK 40V 6.0Ah Replacement Batteries. Its battery management system lists protection against overcharge, overheating, short circuit, and over-voltage, and the product includes a three-year warranty. The tradeoff is that this is a third-party battery for the Kobalt 40V platform only; it will not help owners of Kobalt 20V, 24V, or 80V tools. The listed 4.8-ounce weight also seems unusually low for this capacity, so I’d verify the product details before relying on it.
Pros:- 6.0Ah capacity is higher than the Kobalt 40V 4.0Ah pack.
- Lists compatible Kobalt battery and charger models.
- Battery management system includes several stated electrical and heat protections.
- Includes a three-year warranty.
Cons:- Compatibility is limited to specified Kobalt 40V tools and chargers.
- Third-party brand rather than a Kobalt-branded battery.
- The listed 4.8-ounce weight is unusual for a 6.0Ah battery and merits verification.
Best for: Kobalt 40V tool owners who want a single higher-capacity replacement and whose battery and charger models appear on the compatibility list.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a Kobalt-branded pack, a battery for another voltage platform, or a two-pack purchase.
- Brand:ELECtrysium
- Model number:KB440-03-1P
- Voltage:40V DC
- Capacity:6.0Ah (6000mAh)
- Compatible battery models:KB440-03, KB640-03, KB240-06, KB240C-06
- Compatible chargers:KRC60-06, KRC40-06
- Weight:4.8 ounces (as listed)
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Consider this single-pack runtime upgrade if your Kobalt 40V tool and charger match the listed models and you are comfortable choosing a third-party battery.”
Kobalt 40V 4.0Ah Rechargeable Lithium-Ion Battery
I’d favor this pack over the ELECtrysium 40V 6.0Ah replacement when brand and straightforward platform fit matter more than maximum stated capacity. It is a Kobalt-branded 40V battery for compatible Kobalt cordless equipment, with a proprietary connector and a three-year limited warranty. The stated fade-free power and lack of memory loss after charging suit owners who expect to recharge between outdoor or workshop jobs without managing a special discharge routine. Capacity is 4.0Ah, though, so it gives up runtime on paper to the ELECtrysium 6.0Ah and the two-pack DTK 40V 6.0Ah option. Compatibility also stays within equipment using the Kobalt connector; the voltage label alone is not enough to confirm fit. I’d choose it for a known-compatible Kobalt setup, not as a universal battery.
Pros:- Kobalt-branded 40V battery for compatible cordless equipment.
- 4.0Ah capacity for a balance of runtime and pack size.
- Product description states fade-free power and no memory loss after charging.
- Three-year limited warranty.
Cons:- Lower capacity than the ELECtrysium 40V 6.0Ah replacement.
- Proprietary connector limits compatibility to matching Kobalt equipment.
- Single battery rather than a multi-pack.
Best for: Kobalt 40V equipment owners who prefer a Kobalt-branded battery, documented connector type, and a stated limited warranty.
Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing maximum capacity per battery, a multi-pack, or compatibility with non-Kobalt equipment.
- Brand:Kobalt
- Voltage:40V
- Capacity:4.0Ah
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Connector:Kobalt proprietary connector
- Compatible devices:Kobalt cordless power equipment
- Weight:1.15 kg
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Pick this for a compatible Kobalt 40V tool if brand alignment and the stated warranty matter more than stepping up to 6.0Ah capacity.”
Kobalt 24-Volt Max 2.0-Ah Lithium-Ion Compact Battery
For a Kobalt 24V tool where size and weight matter more than long runtime, this is the most focused pick in the group. The 2.0Ah capacity is half that of the Kobalt 20V Max 4.0Ah battery, but the compact design and 0.5 kg listed weight make it a better fit for lighter tools or jobs where a less bulky pack is welcome. It also avoids the platform mismatch of the 40V and 80V options: this pack is specifically for 24-volt tools. The compromise is shorter runtime than the 24V 4.0Ah Kobalt battery or the 24V 6Ah replacement two-pack. The product data does not state warranty coverage or detailed tool compatibility, so I’d confirm the model and terminal fit before buying.
Pros:- Compact, small-size design.
- Listed weight of 0.5 kg.
- Lithium-ion battery chemistry.
- Designed for Kobalt 24-volt tools.
Cons:- 2.0Ah capacity trails the Kobalt 24V 4.0Ah battery and 24V 6Ah replacement option.
- Warranty information is not provided in the supplied product data.
- Compatibility details beyond the 24V designation are limited.
Best for: Kobalt 24V tool owners who value a compact, lighter battery for shorter tasks or tools where pack size affects handling.
Not ideal for: Users running tools for long stretches between charges or buyers who need detailed compatibility and warranty information upfront.
- Voltage:24 volts
- Capacity:2.0Ah (2000mAh)
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Size:Small
- Weight:0.5 kg
- Unit count:1
- Model number:KB 224-03
Our verdict“Choose this compact pack for compatible Kobalt 24V tools when easy handling matters more than extended runtime.”
XAVITO Replacement for Kobalt 80V Battery 3.5Ah
This XAVITO pack is the high-voltage alternative for owners of compatible Kobalt 80V lawn and power equipment. Its 3.5Ah capacity is positioned above the Kobalt 80V Max 2.5Ah battery, while the listing names several compatible battery models and chargers. XAVITO also claims up to three times the runtime of an original 2.0Ah pack, but that claim is not a direct comparison with every 80V battery, so I would treat it as a manufacturer statement rather than a guarantee. The listing describes BMS safety protections and five-year protection, but this is a third-party replacement, not a Kobalt-branded pack. At 2.9 pounds, it is also heavier than a compact low-capacity battery may be. Verify your exact tool and charger models before ordering.
Pros:- 3.5Ah capacity exceeds the Kobalt 80V Max 2.5Ah battery.
- Lists compatibility with several Kobalt 80V battery models and chargers.
- BMS is described with short-circuit, overcharge, over-voltage, and overheating protection.
- Product description states five-year protection and support.
Cons:- Third-party replacement rather than a Kobalt-branded battery.
- At 2.9 pounds, the pack may add noticeable weight to cordless equipment.
- The claimed runtime and cycle-life figures are manufacturer claims, not established by the supplied product data.
Best for: Kobalt 80V tool owners seeking a higher-capacity third-party replacement and able to confirm their battery and charger models against the listing.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a Kobalt-branded battery, have tools outside the 80V platform, or prefer to avoid performance claims that are not independently substantiated in the supplied data.
- Brand:XAVITO
- Model:KB3080
- Voltage:80V
- Capacity:3.5Ah
- Energy:280Wh
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- Weight:2.9 pounds
- Dimensions:6.7 x 4.6 x 3.2 inches
- Compatible chargers:KRC 30-06, KRC 80-06, KRC 0280-06, S-L500
Our verdict“Consider this 80V replacement if your specific Kobalt tool and charger are listed and you accept a third-party pack with manufacturer-stated performance claims.”

How We Picked
I compared these batteries by platform fit, stated capacity, intended tool use, and kit contents. Voltage compatibility came first: a battery must match the tool’s Kobalt platform, and a charger included with one option does not make that pack usable on a different platform. I then weighed capacity against likely handling tradeoffs, since a larger pack can reduce interruptions but may add weight to a drill, trimmer, or other handheld tool.
The ranking gives preference to options with a clear role and a straightforward match for the named platform, while also accounting for whether each is a Kobalt-branded battery or a third-party replacement. The many replacement packs offer more capacity choices, but their model compatibility claims deserve careful checking and their specifications should not be treated as independently verified. I ranked them by how well their stated features serve a distinct buyer need—not by capacity alone—and noted where the product details leave more uncertainty.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Kobalt Batteries
Choosing among these packs starts with your tool, not the largest capacity number on the listing. I’d check platform and model fit first, then weigh how long you work between charging, how much battery weight you can tolerate, and whether you need a battery-only purchase or a charger bundle.
Match the Voltage Platform Before Comparing Capacity
Kobalt batteries in this roundup span 20V, 24V, 40V, and 80V platforms, and those labels are not interchangeable. Start with the voltage printed on your tool or its existing battery, then confirm the replacement’s compatibility with the exact tool model. A battery with a higher Ah figure is not an upgrade if it belongs to another platform. Third-party listings may name only selected compatible models, so check whether your model appears rather than relying on a broad phrase such as “for Kobalt tools.” If you own tools across multiple platforms, plan on separate batteries and chargers unless the manufacturer states otherwise.
Choose Capacity Around Work Sessions, Not the Biggest Number
A higher Ah capacity generally means more stored energy, which can reduce charging breaks when a tool draws power at a similar rate. It does not promise a fixed runtime: tool type, workload, battery condition, and temperature all affect how long a pack lasts. A 2Ah pack may suit quick jobs or a tool used intermittently, while a larger pack can make sense for repeated cuts or extended yard work. The common mistake is buying maximum capacity for every tool, then carrying more weight than the task calls for. Match the pack to how often you work away from a charger, not to a capacity number in isolation.
Balance Runtime Against Weight and Handling
Battery weight matters most when you hold the tool at arm’s length, work overhead, or move around a yard for long periods. Compact packs can make a tool easier to maneuver, even if they need more frequent charging. Larger packs may be a better fit for stationary or ground-level work where extra weight is less noticeable and fewer interruptions matter more. If you are choosing between a compact and high-capacity option on the same platform, consider the task before deciding that more Ah is automatically better. Some owners may find it useful to keep a smaller pack for handheld jobs and a larger one for demanding work.
Check Third-Party Fit, Support, and Charger Details
Many high-capacity choices here are third-party replacement batteries, unlike the Kobalt-branded packs. Before buying one, confirm the supported model numbers, connector fit, charger compatibility, and the seller’s warranty or return terms. Do not assume that a claim such as “upgraded” or “longer runtime” means the pack has been validated for every Kobalt tool. Bundled chargers can be useful if you need one, but check whether the listing specifies which battery platform the charger supports. If dependable support and a simpler compatibility decision matter more than added capacity, a Kobalt-branded pack may be the more comfortable choice.
Decide Whether a Single Pack or a Two-Pack Fits Your Routine
A two-pack can keep a tool working while a second battery charges, which is useful for longer sessions or households sharing tools. It can also be unnecessary if you already own several packs or use a tool only for short jobs. Compare the capacity of each battery in the bundle, not just the combined count, and confirm that both packs match your platform. Bundles that include a charger may help new owners, but an extra charger has little value if you already have a compatible one. Think about how often you actually run out of charge before paying for additional batteries.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a 40V Kobalt battery in a 24V Kobalt tool?
No. Voltage platforms are different, and a 40V battery is not a substitute for a 24V pack. Match the voltage and battery fit specified for your tool, then check the exact model compatibility if you are considering a replacement from another brand. Capacity does not change that rule: a higher Ah number cannot make a battery from another platform suitable. If you have tools from multiple Kobalt platforms, keep their batteries and chargers clearly identified.
Should I choose a Kobalt-branded battery or a third-party replacement?
A Kobalt-branded battery is the simpler path when you value a direct brand match and want fewer questions about listed model compatibility. A third-party replacement may offer a different capacity or a multi-pack, but its fit, charger support, warranty, and seller terms need closer review. Read the supported model numbers rather than relying only on a general compatibility statement. If a replacement listing makes a performance claim, treat it as a seller claim unless it provides clear supporting details. The better choice depends on how much you value a straightforward match versus a wider range of replacement options.
Is a higher-Ah battery always better for runtime?
Higher Ah indicates greater stated capacity, but it does not translate into one guaranteed runtime for every tool or task. Power draw, workload, temperature, and battery condition all affect how long a pack lasts. Larger-capacity batteries can also add weight, which may make a handheld tool less comfortable to use. For a job that involves brief bursts, a smaller pack may be easier to manage; for extended work away from a charger, extra capacity may be useful. Compare capacity only among batteries that fit the same platform and tool.
Are the 40V two-packs a better choice than buying one battery?
A two-pack is most useful if you regularly work long enough to drain one battery before a charging break or if more than one compatible tool is in use. It is less compelling when your jobs are short or you already have spare batteries. Check the capacity of each pack and confirm that both fit your particular 40V tool; bundle size alone does not establish compatibility. Also check whether a charger is included and whether it supports the battery model. The right decision is based on your charging routine, not simply the number of batteries in the listing.
Should I choose the Kobalt 80V 2.5Ah battery or the XAVITO 80V 3.5Ah replacement?
The choice comes down to whether you favor a Kobalt-branded pack or want to explore a higher-capacity third-party option. The Kobalt 2.5Ah battery is the more direct brand match, while the XAVITO listing states 3.5Ah and names specific compatible Kobalt battery models. That model list is a starting point, not a reason to skip checking your equipment’s exact requirements. A larger stated capacity may mean a heavier pack, so consider how the battery will feel on your outdoor tool. Review charger fit and seller support before choosing the replacement.
Conclusion
For the broadest range of Kobalt 24V tool owners, I’d choose the Kobalt 24V Max 4.0Ah battery as the best overall for its balanced capacity and familiar platform. The 24V 6Ah two-pack is my best value-style pick for longer sessions when added capacity matters more than keeping each tool light. For buyers seeking a premium-style capacity option, the OHYES BAT 40V 8.0Ah two-pack is the standout by stated capacity, though I’d verify model fit and support before buying. Beginners are better served by a Kobalt-branded pack that matches their tool exactly, such as the 24V 4Ah battery, rather than starting with an unfamiliar replacement. For lighter 80V outdoor-tool use, choose Kobalt’s 2.5Ah pack; if you want more stated capacity, compare the XAVITO replacement carefully against your model. The right pick is the one that matches your voltage, workload, and tolerance for battery weight.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.


















