TL;DR
Get tools and workshop supplies delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Amazon announced the Ring Smart Lock, which can use its thumb-turn dial to generate enough power to unlock the door if the rechargeable battery runs out. The $249 lock is expected in the US in early 2027, pending FCC approval; Amazon has not said how many turns emergency access requires.
Amazon has announced the Ring Smart Lock, its first smart lock, with a thumb-turn dial that can generate power if the lock’s rechargeable battery dies. The company says turning the dial a few times should provide enough energy to unlock the door, giving users a way inside without a physical backup key; the $249 device is expected in the US in early 2027, pending FCC approval.
The dial’s charging mechanism is built into the lock’s thumb-turn, rather than relying on an exposed USB port or contacts for connecting an external battery. Amazon has not specified how many turns are required or how much power the mechanism generates. It says the energy from a few turns can unlock the door and allow the battery to be fully recharged.
For everyday access, the lock will support a fingerprint reader, a backlit touchscreen keypad, the Ring app and voice commands through Alexa-compatible devices. Users can register multiple people and set schedules or temporary access codes that expire automatically. The lock uses Ring’s replaceable Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack and does not require wiring for installation.
Instead of connecting directly to home Wi-Fi, the lock communicates with other devices through Amazon’s Sidewalk network, a low-power, long-range system. Amazon says remote access and alerts can work where Sidewalk coverage is adequate. The lock has no camera, so checking who is at the door would require a separate camera or video doorbell.
Emergency Entry Without a Spare Key
A dead battery can leave a connected lock’s owner unable to use its electronic entry features. The Ring design addresses that practical failure point with an emergency power source built into the same dial used to operate the lock. If it works as described, users would not need to carry a spare key or find an external battery contact when the lock loses power.
The feature does not remove every access risk. The lock still depends on its battery for normal operation, and remote features depend on a usable network connection and coverage. The dial offers a local fallback, but Amazon has yet to publish details that would let buyers judge how reliably or quickly it works.
The product also places Ring’s lock within Amazon’s broader connected-home system: users can manage access through the Ring app and Alexa devices, while the lock’s network connection relies on Sidewalk rather than Wi-Fi. That may suit households already using compatible Amazon devices, but the lock’s lack of an integrated camera means it cannot independently show who is at the door.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Ring’s First Lock and Network Choice
The Ring Smart Lock is planned in black, silver and brass finishes for $249. Its expected US launch is in early 2027, subject to FCC approval. The announcement does not establish a firm release date, and availability outside the United States was not specified in the source report.
Emergency entry systems vary across smart locks. The Verge’s report describes other models as using hidden USB ports or metal contacts that can connect to a 9-volt battery. Ring’s approach instead uses motion at the thumb-turn to produce power. The report also notes that Sidewalk coverage will matter: Amazon’s stated remote-access functions depend on living in an area with adequate coverage.
Amazon announced the lock alongside new Ring cameras, but those products are separate. The lock itself has no camera; a buyer seeking video at the entrance would need to pair it with a doorbell camera or another compatible security camera.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Turn Count and Launch Details Await
Amazon has not said exactly how many dial turns are needed, how long emergency power lasts, or whether the mechanism can recharge a fully depleted battery in all conditions. The report does not provide independent testing of the feature, so the emergency-access claim remains the company’s description rather than a verified performance result.
The expected early-2027 US launch is conditional on FCC approval, and no exact release date is given. The source also does not specify whether the lock will be offered in other markets, how Sidewalk coverage will vary by location, or what additional requirements may apply to remote access and alerts.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
FCC Review Before US Release
The next stated milestone is FCC approval, which is pending. Amazon expects the lock to reach the US market in early 2027, but has not announced a specific on-sale date. Further product details, including the dial’s required turn count and operating performance, may be disclosed before release or become clearer through testing closer to launch.
People considering the lock will also need to check whether Sidewalk coverage is available where they live and whether its keypad, fingerprint reader and app-based controls fit their access needs. The announced price is $249; the source report does not give a final date for preorders or confirm availability beyond the US.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
How does the Ring Smart Lock work if its battery dies?
Amazon says turning the lock’s thumb-turn dial generates enough power to unlock the door. The company describes the required effort as a few turns but has not given an exact count.
When will the Ring Smart Lock be available?
Amazon expects US availability in early 2027, pending FCC approval. No exact release date is confirmed.
How much will the lock cost?
The announced price is $249. Amazon plans to offer black, silver and brass finishes.
Does the lock include a camera?
No. The Ring Smart Lock does not include a camera. A separate Ring camera or video doorbell would be needed to view visitors.
Does the lock connect to Wi-Fi?
According to the report, it connects to other devices through Amazon’s Sidewalk network, rather than relying directly on home Wi-Fi. Remote access and alerts depend on adequate Sidewalk coverage.
Source: rss
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
